Chartership and Beyond Event at Lewisham Library

Attended my first ‘Chartership and Beyond’ event in a support role. Very interesting to hear the presentations again at a later stage in the chartership procedings and it certainly reminded me of a few points that I had forgotten but which are very relevant to writing up. Plenty of time for discussion where the attendees were encouraged to think of specific examples to meet the critera and gave an opportunity for them to ask the CILIP representative, the CSO and myself questions. I was pleased that I was able to answer the questions that I was asked (having stated that I hadn’t finished chartering myself yet!) and I do feel quite confident that I know now what I should be including, just a case of taking everything I have collected and organising it and making sure that the evidence says what I want it to. I think one of the hardest things for me will be to decide what evidence can be excluded – the size of the portfolios I have seen (both online and the example at this event) vary so wildly but I already know that what I have at the moment will need to be weeded.

Two main things I was reminded of especially – keep focussing on the criteria at every stage of writing up and remember to use SMART goals in planning –
Specific
Measurable
Action Orientated
Realistic
Timely

2 Responses to “Chartership and Beyond Event at Lewisham Library”

  1. Suzanne Says:

    Wow, this is impressive! I’d have been terrified at the thought of talking about the portfolio – fantastic piece of evidence though, eh 😉

    I’ve recently attended a second chartership event too, and found it so much more helpful than the first one because you know more, and you’ve done a bit of practical work. I’m finding it quite tricky at the moment though to work out how to use my evidence, and wondering whether to ‘produce’ more, which is just becoming a distraction, to be quite honest!

    Sounds like you’re getting there though. Good luck 🙂

  2. assistantlibrarian Says:

    Hi Suzanne,

    Thanks for the comment – I’m deep in the middle of final portfolio production at the moment (have taken out a lot and it still seems enormous to me!) and have attempted a (very) first draft of my statement. I know exactly what you mean about the temptation to produce more – especially where you suddenly run out of space in the 1000 words and that one extra piece of evidence might just help! Hope you’ve been able to sort your evidence out now – have you started on the statement yet? Good luck with yours as well.

    Karen

Leave a Reply

